How to Become a Real Estate Appraiser in Florida

The Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board handles appraisal licensing. Florida no longer has a “licensed” level of appraising. It is trainee, certified and certified general. It has the most strict requirements for certification.

Florida Registered Trainee Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Must be 18 years or older, submit a completed application and fingerprint background check; have a registered social security number
Training Requirements: None
Education Requirements: High School Diploma and successfully complete 100 classroom hours of board approved courses required by the FREAM.
Fee: $230.00
State Required Test: Yes.

Florida Certified Residential Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Must be 18 years or older, submit a completed application and fingerprint background check
Training Requirements: 2,500 hours of experience in no fewer than 24 months
Education Requirements: Must hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher; 200 classroom hours of board approved courses required by the FREAM and obtain
2,500 experience hours, at least 150 reports, obtained under a certified appraiser within 24 months or more.
Fee: $360.00
State Required Test: Yes. Must complete the National Residential Exam and the Florida Supplemental Exam.
Other: Register business name with department.

Florida Certified General Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Must be 18 years or older, submit a completed application and fingerprint background check
Training Requirements: 3,000 hours of experience in no fewer than 30 months. 1,500 of these hours must be in non-residential appraisal experience
Education Requirements: Must hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher; successfully complete 300 classroom hours of board approved topics required by the FREAM and
3000 experience hours, a minimum of 23 Summary or Self-Contained reports in a narrative format or 12 nonresidential Summary or Self-Contained reports, 135 non-narrative supportable and documented appraisal reports all obtained over a 30 month or greater time period.
Fee: $360.00
State Required Test: Yes

Curious about becoming an appraiser? Download our 60-paged eBook written by a State Certified Appraiser that provides an in-depth look into the profession!

Resources

Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board

 

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.