How to Become a Real Estate Appraiser in Nevada

The state of Nevada has similar requirements to most states. The exception is the number experience houses for a licensed appraiser and certified general higher are higher than most.  2,400 hours are required for the license and 3,500 hour are required for the certified general.

The Nevada Real Estate Division handles appraisal licensing. Note that all pre-licensing education must be approved by the Nevada Commission of Appraisers. A list of course providers is available on the division’s website

Nevada Registered Intern

Basic Requirements: Must be registered under a Nevada certified appraiser and submit a completed application
Training Requirements: None
Education Requirements: 75 hours of qualifying education courses and three hours of Nevada law
Fee: $290.00
State Required Test: None

Nevada Licensed Residential Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Submit a completed license application, show proof of passing the Appraisal examination and pay required fees
Training Requirements: 2,400 hours of experience in no fewer than 2 years
Education Requirements: Must have an associate’s degree, or higher, from an accredited college or university or successfully complete 30 semester hours of college-level courses from an accredited college or university; 150 hour of qualifying education courses and three hours of Nevada law
Fee: $420.00
State Required Test: Yes

Nevada Certified Residential Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Submit a completed license application, show proof of passing the Appraisal examination and pay required fees
Training Requirements: 2,500 hours of experience in no fewer than 2 years including not less that 500 hours of experience relating to complex property 
Education Requirements: Hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university. (Official transcript required); 200 hours of qualifying education courses and three hours of Nevada law
Fee: $420.00
State Required Test: Yes

Nevada Certified General Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Submit a completed license application, show proof of passing the Appraisal examination and pay required fees
Training Requirements: 3,600 hours of experience in no fewer than 3 years including not less than 1,500 hours of experience of appraising commercial real estate.
Education Requirements: Hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university. (Official transcript required); 300 hours of qualifying education courses, plus three hours of Nevada law
Fee: $520.00
State Required Test: Yes

Curious about becoming an appraiser? Download our 60-paged eBook written by a State Certified Appraiser that provides an in-depth look into the profession!

Appraiser Resources

Nevada Real Estate Division 

 

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.