How to Become a Real Estate Appraiser in North Dakota

In North Dakota, the Real Estate Appraiser Qualifications and Ethics Board handles real estate appraising applications.  An appraiser trainee is titled as a  Apprentice Appraiser. You must get this license to obtain the experience hours that qualify you to take the test for licensed, certified, and certified general licenses.  North Dakota is one of the few states that require a state examination for the apprentice license. However, it is open book.

North Dakota Apprentice Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Must be at least 18 years old, have a high school level education and submit a completed application
Training Requirements: None
Education Requirements: 75 hours of qualifying education courses
Fee: $100.00
State Required Test: Yes; open book examination covering the ND Appraiser Statute and ND Appraiser Rules and Regulations

North Dakota Licensed Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Must be at least 18 years old, have a high school level education and submit a completed application
Training Requirements: 2000 hours of experience in no less than 12 months
Education Requirements: Associate’s degree or 30 semester hours of college level education or higher; 150 hours of qualifying education courses
Fee: $400.00
State Required Test: Yes

North Dakota Certified Residential Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Must be at least 18 years old, have a high school level education and submit a completed application
Training Requirements: 2500 hours of experience in no less than 24 months
Education Requirements: Bachelor’s degree or higher; 200 hours of qualifying education courses
Fee: $400.00
State Required Test: Yes

North Dakota Certified General Appraiser

Basic Requirements: Must be at least 18 years old, have a high school level education and submit a completed application
Training Requirements: 3000 hours of experience in no fewer than 30 months
Education Requirements: Bachelor’s degree or higher OR 30 semester hours comprised of specified subject matter from an accredited institution; 300 hours of qualifying education courses
Fee: $400.00
State Required Test: Yes

Curious about becoming an appraiser? Download our 60-paged eBook written by a State Certified Appraiser that provides an in-depth look into the profession!

Resources

North Dakota Real Estate Appraiser Qualifications and Ethics Board

 

Leave A Comment?

You must be logged in to post a comment.